Fighting over who looks worse...

Hello dopers, I’m quite a newbie here, although I’ve been lurking for longer than I’d like to admit. I figured there is no better way to break the ice than start a thread about a personal issue! How classy, huh.

So I’m seeking advice from a non-personal perspective, since it’s a personal issue.

Since I was young, my mother has always demeaned herself/her body/her mind, etc. I have been brought up to do the same. For example, I’m with my mom. I make a compliment about another woman’s hair/outfit/etc that looks nice and she states “I wish I had that”… or… “that’s what I need to be doing”. If someone is out running she beats herself up - “I need to get out there and do that”. If I compliment my mother-in-law about how good she is with the kids, she says “I’m the boring grandma”. When I was pregnant, she always made comments about how it was the only time in our lives her stomach would be flatter than mine. She’ll eat a cookie and then say “why did I eat this, I could live off the fat of the land for weeks”. My daughter was doing gymnastics one day and she said “God, I wish I was that limber”.

My mom is NOT overweight, and has never had an eating problem, so these comments are WAY out of line. This is not an occassional thing. It happens every single day. I don’t want to turn this into a “Poor me, my parents screwed me up” thread… but I have LOATHED myself since adolesence. My mom and I have banterings about who is fatter/flabbier/looks worse all the time. What is most frightening is that we are fit, healthy, nice-looking women.

I am terrified of passing this on to my 4-year old daughter. God help me. I don’t want her to be on anti-depressants and painkillers to feel good about herself as I have resorted to.

How do I get my mom to STOP. How do I stop?

It’s doubtful you can do anything about your mother, and I doubt she’d be interested in changing at this point.