Filing Taxes

My friend has been employed off and on since he was 17 (back in '01) and says that every year his father’s tax guy would say that [my firend] didn’t need to file taxes because he made less than x amount in that given year and was a dependent.

Now my friend thinks he was screwed out of a lot of money by not having filed all those years as he just filed this year, and even claiming a “9” exemption, received back $330. He was asking me whether or not it was possible to file for those previous years and whether he’d get in trouble for not having filed all those years.

I didn’t really know what to tell him but I told him I’d look into it. So here goes my “looking into it”. Any info SDopers?

I’m not a tax expert (or novice for that matter) but if i recall you have three years to refile your taxes

First, your friend should review his W-2 forms to see if he had any taxes withheld during the years in question. In fact, I’m surprised he didn’t do this at the time.

Second, if your friend was truly not required to file because he made so little money in a given year, there is no penalty for filing late to get a refund that he was due.* However, if enough time has elapsed, you cannot file for a refund that were due.

*However, in general, if you are required to file, even if you are due a refund, there are penalties for failing to file a return.

Disclaimer: I’m not a tax expert.

I was apparently mistaken in my postscript above. According to this IRS web page, there is no penalty for failing to file if you are due a refund, even if you are required to file. However, you only have 3 years to file to receive a refund that was due.

However, further down the page it states that:

Thank you very much Robby, I’ll make sure to forward this link to him.