Firewall for personal computer

Can anyone explain firewall to me, in layman terms? I understand that it is for security, from hackers(?). After that can you tell me the difference between software firewall and hardware firewall. I’ve came across a brand new (although outdated) Firebox Soho 6. While it will look good sitting next to my router and modem and external harddrive, I wonder if it has any purpose for a personal computer as it claimed to be for small business use up to 10 computers.

• Firewall explanation
  • Difference software/hardware
  • Outdated hardware any good (outside system requirements, security level)
  • Hardware provide more security for personal use than software

Thanks

I sold security software and hardware for many years. While I’m not an expert (I was a sales rep, not an engineer, and we all know how sales guys are ;)) hopefully I can shed some light. If anyone can provide better guidance, by all means, please do.

*** Firewall explanation**
Broadly speaking, a firewall puts some type of barrier, or protection mechanism, between your PC and the internet, requiring inbound and/or outbound traffic to meet specific requirements and/or pass certain inspections before passing through.

Firewalls don’t just protect from “hackers” (I’m assuming you mean an individual who has targeted you specifically and is attempting to intrude into your network - kind of an outdated concept, since most intrusions happen via automated botnets or worms these days) - some types can protect block traffic generated by viruses and worms, as well as prevent infected systems inside your network from connecting to the outside world. If a system does get compromised, this can prevent it from sending your juicy details to some Russian mob outfit.

*** Difference software/hardware**