First Strike Coins

Recently, I was looking at some Silver Eagle coins on eBay, and noticed a lot of the auctions mentioned that their coin was a “first strike”. These are proof coins.

One auction said:

What I’m wondering is, what difference does it make? Who cares if a coin is “first strike” or not? I mean, why would that make it more desirable? I know when you’re talking cars, you don’t want some of the first ones made because often-times, they’re still working the bugs out.

Are these coins more desirable because the dies are newer and thus the coins more pristene? Or don’t they change the dies every so often during the run so you could get a “fresh” die later in the run anyways?

I’m new to the whole coin thing…but have wondered about this.

Any light anyone can shed on the whole “first strike” issue would be appreciated!

It’s strictly of concern to collectors, a lot like first editions of books (plus first first editions, and a few first first first editions). It is simply a limit on the number of coins that can have this designation, which means there is a finite number of them. This can mean that they will increase in value faster. OTOH, I have seen commercials for “first strike” commemorative coins, so it may not have much effect at all.

Saoirse summed it up reasonably well, but there is a difference.

With books, a first edition/first printing typically isn’t different from a second printing of that same edition, except for possibly a minor change on the copyright page. If there’s any way to tell the difference, though, the first/first will be more valuable to collectors than a later printing first edition.

With coins, there is (potentially) a difference. Once you’ve created the die, each coin stamped with it introduces some wear, and potentially dings, scratches, and other imperfections. The first few runs of coins will be the closest to perfect that the die is capable of producing–thus their extra value.

It’s all hooey.