What about this: Two outs, runners on 2nd and 3rd. Runner on third attempts to steal home, but the batter hits a ground ball to short. That runner crosses the plate before the shortstop tags the runner going from 2nd to 3rd, but then the shortstop throws to 1st to get a force out on the batter to deny the run.
After writing that, I’d guess the ball is dead once the third out is made, but maybe I’m wrong, so I’ll post anyway.
I don’t actually know if there is a specific rule for that. If it had come up while I was umpiring I’d have ruled that the fourth out could replace the third denying the run. Since umps are allowed to rule on things not covered, I’d have been “right” unless there actually is a rule. I’d base this decision on the idea that appeal plays are allowed in just such circumstances.