Flat lenses in glasses in movies/TV

I think this is my first time in Cafe Society!

So, why? Why in movies and television shows are lenses flat and therefore so obviously fake? It always rips me violently away from the suspended reality. “Fake glasses!,” I think to myself- “with all the movie magic special effects, typically a multi-million budget, etc, WHY can’t they do something about this overly obvious prop? Why?” and then I turn that over in my head for a time while the movie rolls on and I miss vital things. Seriously.

So- why? Why the flat lenses?

-BB

This is obvious?

(WAG) Because curved lenses would have too many distracting reflections (to the viewer’s eye) from stage lights, etc.?

It would distort the actor’s vision, as glasses are meant to. Generally though, they distort it in a good way for folks that need them. If your actor doesn’t, then that’s a problem.

You used to see these all the time, but I haven’t recently.

EDIT:

The optics of the lens depends on the curvature of both faces. You can make a lens with (almost) no distortion and a curved front, if you just make the curve on the back match it.

Maybe it’s just me, (maybe being a 20+ years prescription glasses wearer has a lot to do with it), but it’s super obvious!

In fact, since I started this thread, I saw a real life guy being interviewed on a local news station. He had glasses and the lenses threw a lot of distortion. And I said aloud to my friends “Now THOSE are some REAL glasses!”

Same reason whenever you see an astronaut/deep sea diver/swat team member/someone wearing a helmet, the helmet always has a light on the inside. It’s unrealistic, but most audience members are probably more interested in clearly seeing the actor’s face than gaining this tiny bit of realism.

Can you link to some pictures? I can’t recall ever seeing this, or if I did I just didn’t notice it.

This! This! :smiley: