Flute Question: How do I play two sequential same notes in a slur?

I’m an amateur flutist, and I’ve wondered this for a really long time… I’m sure it has a simple answer.

Often in a series of slurred notes, there’ll be two of the same note in a row. If they don’t cross a bar-line, it doesn’t make sense that I should play them as a single note (otherwise, why not write them as, say, a half note rather than two quarter notes?), but since it’s a slur I don’t feel right tonguing the second note.

What’s the standard technique here?

Unless I’m missing something here it means the notes are ‘tied’ i.e. you play one note whose length is the sum of the length of the two written notes.

A tie needn’t occur across a bar line, some note values can only be written by the using ties. Or sometimes whoever annotated the music has used a tie instead of (for example) a dot as to aid readibilty.

I know it’s not always played as a tie because in some cases I know what the song should sound like (e.g. something from a movie soundtrack) and the two notes have to be separated. Of course, when I google for examples, I can’t find any.

I haven’t sight-read music regualrly for a while so I’m a bit hesistant, but you can’t slur two notes of the same pitch, you can only play them as one note.

Do the notes have dots above them? If they do it means they’re meant to be played portato rather than legato.

I don’t play the flute much anymore because of TMJ issues, but I was a pretty serious flutist in high school and college.

I can picture what you’re describing, but I have to say that I don’t think I’ve ever actually seen it. Could you scan or take a picture of a bit of sheet music so I can be sure that I have it right?