Following HR policy on not giving references?

Over a year ago, the organization I work for hired an attorney who, by all accounts, was a good employee for six months before he left to go take care of his sick mother on the other coast. Management tried to convince him to stay on as an employee and just take a leave, but he decided to give notice and maybe consider applying again once he was back in town. When he returned to the area, he decided to look for work elsewhere, and used me and our boss as references. (I’m not part of management, but I’m a senior attorney who has some manager-like oversight and could speak to the quality of his work.) I gave him a good reference, but apparently our boss pulled the old “per HR policy I can only confirm this individual worked here from X to Y dates and can’t comment on his performance.” This was interpreted negatively, and my colleague didn’t get the job.

I heard about it from my colleague, who had been told this by his prospective employer, and I asked my boss about it. My boss initially confirmed that this was what he had done, although he had nothing negative to say about the guy; my boss said he’s just a “rule-follower” and that’s what he’d been told by HR. I shared with him my perception, which was that every organization had this policy on the books, but it was only really applied to bad employees; good employees still got references. My boss acknowledged this and then kind of walked back what he had said earlier, indicating he had told the prospective new employer that my colleague was eligible for rehire and would be an asset to their organization. I’m not sure if I believe that, given what he said at first.