Following the financial crisis, is there anyone you feel deserved punishment who didn't receive it?

I want to avoid populist retribution, but of the actors involved in the financial crisis, who do you feel should have been prosecuted who was not? For each name, what crime should they be charged with?

Thanks,
Rob

I am not an expert on anything financial and I don’t have any names to give. Here’s the problem as I see it.

If we take an ordinary criminal, such as a guy who knocks over liquor stores for cash, what he does is against the law. He can’t change that. The best he can do is to avoid getting caught, but if he does get caught, what he did remains illegal.

If we take a CEO of a bank who wants to steal vast sums from his investors and/or customers, he’s powerful enough to change the definition of “illegal”. He just needs to shuffle a few million dollars to the President and members of Congress through various means, and then he has leverage with which to either change the law, change individual regulations, or hold up the enforcement of laws or regulations. So then the theft that he’s chosen to commit becomes legal, or close enough to legal that he can’t be prosecuted for it.

Hence many of the worst actors in the financial industry may never have committed anything that’s officially a crime, so there’s no way to prosecute them. For example, Citibank has been on a non-stop crime spree since it was founded in the Clinton Administration, yet as far as I know, none of its executives have been prosecuted.

What prompted the question was the anger I hear at the lack of prosecutions. However, if what the actors were doing was legal, they can’t be prosecuted.

Now if said actors are using their influence to forestall an investigation or prosecution, that falls nicely under the auspices of my original post.

Rob