food waste: down the drain, or out with the trash?

Years ago a roommate suggested that rather than shoving food scraps into the garbage grinder, I should scoop them into the trash. His reasoning was that although they will take up space in the landfill, putting them into the sanitary sewer system will increase the energy and chemical-use requirement at the water treatment plant.

It made sense to me then, although I still don’t have any proof either way. Given that I’m not composting, which is more “environmentally friendly,” and which costs less money?

A)put food scraps down the drain of my kitchen sink, where they go to the water treatment plant and get addressed with flocculent, chlorine, agitation, and so on.

B)put food scraps in my trash, where they end up in a landfill, taking up space and slowly releasing methane for a few years.

?

I’m an engineer at a sewer/water utility.

If the wastewater treatment plant has the available treatment capacity, there is no real problem with putting food waste down the drain.

The problem is that many treatment plants are already at their treatment capacity, especially with the increasingly stricter discharge limits. In that case, the utility may discourage or even prohibit the use of food disposer units until they can increase treatment capacity. Note that this is always a major project and typically costs in the tens of millions of dollars.

Note that the disposal of food waste is a separate issue from the disposal of trash. Trash (including razor blades, condoms, dental floss, paper towels, etc.) should never be disposed of down the drain.