For He-Dopers who wear neckties

How many necktie knots do you know how to tie?

Which one do you tie most often?

Can you tie a bow-tie and do you ever wear one other than with a tux?

What is your favorite necktie that you never wear?

I’ve got about 40 neckties (no bowties). I tend toward the ones with cartoon charaters or animal related (I’m a biologist). I enjoy wearing them.

However, I only know one necktie knot. I keep thinking I need to expand my repertoire, but never have gotten around to it. I suck. :frowning:

Most of my ties get appreciative comments from coworkers and even random people. I’ve got one that elicits either one of two reactions. “That’s the coolest tie I’ve ever seen!” or “My God, that’s the ugliest tie I’ve ever seen!” My opinion lines up with the latter so I wear it quite infrequently, but it always makes for good conversation.

Two knots. One for thin ties, the other for thick ones. Have no idea what they’re called.

just two: four-in-hand and windsor
windsor
no and no
a teal silk paisley

Three. Two for long ties and one for bow ties. I don’t know the names of the knots - the one I use the most produces a square knot that keeps the tie from going crooked, but if the tie isn’t long enough for that, I use the simpler knot that doesn’t take as much, but the tie often goes crooked.

The square knot.

Yes. I wear a black bow-tie with my Prince Charlie jacket and kilt (but that might be considered the equivalent of a tux), and also some patterned bow-ties (Stewart tartan; stars and moons; winnie-the-pooh) with a shirt and v-neck sweater.

I wear my favourite long ties in rotation, so if it’s a favourite it gets worn. Since I don’t wear the bow-ties as often, I don’t get to wear winnie that much.

There is only one knot: the double windsor. Look it up if you need to. :slight_smile: