For those who grade: Share your stupidest answers

I’m a librarian and I teach dozens of seminars in Fall Semester on “How to Do Research at this Library 101”. There is a quiz for the seminar that is basically a scavenger hunt. Grading one of the last quizzes to come through yesterday I found one answer I’ve never received in what must the thousands of tests I’ve graded.

The question:

This student’s answer:

I laughed so hard I gave the poor kid full credit. Talk about losing your precious.

Other favorite answers:

When asked to find a book by Nathaniel Hawthorne: The Autobiography of Mark Twain

When asked to find a work of fiction about Nazi Germany: The Diary of Anne Frank

When asked to find a scholarly article about any of the plane crashes on September 11, 2001: from a Des Moines newspaper:John Ritter’s Death A ‘Complete Shock’ Say Friends & Family (Ritter died on September 11, 2003)

When asked to find a video about modern agriculture: Charlotte’s Web
So what are some of your favorite answers you’ve ever received on a test you’ve graded?

I teach first year undergrad mathematics to physicists…

Well, I’ve had numerous students tell me that 2 multiplied by 0 was in fact 2.

Then there was the student who used the wrong method, but which coincidentally, because we were working with trigonometric functions, gave the correct answer. He spent a good fifteen minutes arguing with me that because it gave the correct answer, the method was entirely valid. Which it was not.

However, the silliest thing anyone’s ever said to me in class was the guy yesterday, who, in all innocence asked, “Is George Bush a liberal?”.

Which step of the writing process takes the most time?

Plagerizm [sic] takes the most time, I think.

Physics for an variety of non-science majors - mostly sophomores and juniors.

Q: Describe the relationship between frictional force and normal force.

A: F = u*N, therefore F and N are not related because they’re on opposite sides of the equation.