Found a buyer for my old beater car. Tell me how the sales transaction plays out.

This is a follow-up to my earlier thread in GQ asking about how one handles the curbside license plate transfer from a used car seller to a used car buyer. Thanks for all the help with that topic, folks. Moving on…

Okay, so someone bit on my Craigslist ad. We’re getting together tomorrow to seal the deal, assuming that the car meets his expectations (which, fortunately, are not that high, I’ve gathered). I’m new to the whole used car sales dodge. How will this transaction play out exactly?

There’s me. There’s him. There’s the car. There’s his money. There’re my plates and registration sticker. There’s his plates (which he’ll bring, he said). There’s the paperwork which must be filled out, signed and exchanged (title, sales affadavit DMV form, bill of sale). And of course, there’s the possible test drive.

Can someone tell me exactly what happens, and in what sequence? I’m most interested in how the test drive works, so don’t spare the details there (do I go with him, does he given any money beforehand, how long is the drive, etc?). Are there any red flags or other warning signs that I should watch out for?

Also, is it insane to enact this transaction alone? I mean is there any real danger involved here that I’m being set up for a robbery or something?

Thanks all in advance.

I’ve bought two used cars and a motorcycle and sold one. I’ve always done it alone.

It generally goes: test drive, offer/acceptance, fill out paperwork, exchange paperwork/money, shake hands.