Fourth cousins twice removed???

What relation are my kids to my first cousin’s kids? Second cousins? First cousins once removed? And what is that whole “removed” thing anyway? Any help or links appreciated.

Your kids and your cousin’s kids are second cousins to each other. THEIR kids will be third cousins to each other. And so on.

“Removed” signifies a number of generations away from a relationship. Your first cousins are your children’s first cousins once removed, your grandchildren’s first cousins twice removed, and so on.

Sorry I know this is complicated … it might help you to draw a family tree while you think about it.

And for your topic question: two people that are fourth cousins twice removed would mean that one’s great-great-grandparent and the other’s great-great-great-great-grandparent were siblings.

Oboyoboyoboyoboy… OK, here it is, plain and simple. Or kinda. I’m not good at charts so I’m gonna try to lay it out verbally.

Let’s take a man we’ll call Arnold.
Arnold has two kids, Betty and Barney.
Betty and Barney are siblings, brother and sister.
So far, so good.

Betty has one kid, Carrie.
Barney has one kid, Cecil.
Carrie and Cecil are first cousins. Still pretty simple.

Carrie has one kid, David.
Cecil has one kid, Darlene.
David and Darlene are second cousins.
Darlene is Carrie’s first cousin once removed.
David is Cecil’s first cousin once removed.

OK, one more generation and I think we can round out the picture nicely.

David has a kid, Eleanor.
Darlene has a kid, Ernest.
Eleanor and Ernest are third cousins.
Eleanor is Darlene’s second cousin once removed and Cecil’s first cousin twice removed.
Ernest is David’s second cousin once removed and Carrie’s first cousin twice removed.