Framing Charcoal Drawings

Okay, so I’m used to framing my artwork myself. Got my matt board, cutter, and have a friend whose dry-mount press I use. That’s right, drymount press – I’m used to framing my photos.

But what the heck am I supposed to do with my conté drawings??

Conté, for those unfamiliar, is a very similar medium to charcoal. I can’t drymount it of course, but I have no experience framing anything that’s not photographic. Google has only yielded results that point to wear I can buy charcoal drawings or do-it-yourself supplies.

Anyone have any resouces/links/recommendations?

Artist checkin’ in here. I personally can’t stand drymount - it’s the bane of my existence. I think it did a better job at scorching some of my stuff than it did at mounting them.

Now when you say you use the press to frame your photos - do you mount them onto the backing of a frame, which then sits within the wood of the frame, with glass overtop? In that case, if you want to mount a conte drawing, I might suggest spray glue. It’s evil and can be carcinogenic, but I used it to mount some of my conte work. It’s pretty tacky, so you shouldn’t have to touch the drawing much when you press it down. In any case, you might want to use a spray fixative on the drawing to help prevent it from transferring. Hope that helps.

For my exhibition photos I use fibre based paper which curls viciously so I pretty much have to drymount them. I use gallery quality material only (acid free mattboard etc.) In theory, they should last 100 years (but since I won’t be around then, I won’t be able to post back to verify that :wink: ) Never had a problem scorching anything. I’ve got the drymounting of photos down to a science though. Especially after my last show. Quite labor intensive.