Free online family tree software?

Does anyone have recommendations for a decent family tree platform? I will need something that’s free indefinitely (so free trial periods leading to paid subscriptions are out).

I’ve never tried to build a family tree before, so I’m not certain what features I would want or how robust I need it to be. Basically my goal is to have a place to keep track of ancestral connections, include notes/photos, and be able to include my mom so she can write things in on her own, instead of our current system where I ask if she can dig up old family photos and email me scans, which I finally got 2 years later. :stuck_out_tongue: (I still don’t have my great-grandmother’s wedding photo…) We’ve discussed our family history before, but as far as I know no one has written anything down, and trying to create a tree/flowchart in Word is annoying, at best.

A research engine would be a bonus, though I’m not expecting that in a free product. I love the idea of ancestry.com, but can’t afford a subscription.

I use (the german version of) “Ahnenblatt”. The english version is available here http://www.ahnenblatt.com/

I use Legacy, the paid version. Though there is a free version also. From what I understand the free version remains free.

Check it out.

http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/

I’ve used Brother’s Keeper for around 20 years. It’s still updated regularly. It’s available as an open ended free trial - you can use it forever without paying.

There are about 5 features in the free trial that are disabled, but you can enable them to try them out using a code supplied in the help menu. They’re not critical functions of the software.

The author of the software answers queries by email and on a mailing list.

If you ever do decide to pay for the software, it’s a whopping $45.