Free online tax filing ... How do they make any money?

If one googles “free tax filing” you get lots of hits. How do these companies make any money?

I wonder if they collect the information and then sell it.

The free aspect is to get you “in the door”. Once in you are bombarded with irresistible offers to upgrade to their premium service.

That said, I’ve been using the free TurboTax site for several years.
mmm

They might do that. They might also try to upsell services that aren’t included in their free service. As I understand it, many of the free services cover only the most basic tax scenarios; if your situation is the slightest bit complicated or out of the ordinary, then you’ll need to pay for upgraded service, and the company will very helpfully and persistently remind you about this.

The governments of some tax jurisdictions (Germany, for example) freely provide official tax preparation software. In this case they don’t need to make money, because the system is entirely state-funded.

In the UK, most people don’t have to submit a tax return as PAYE automatically takes care of changes.

The self-employed do submit annual returns and they can DIY online but the cost of an expert is usually less than the savings they can find.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vGVK4ibMI-Y

Youtube clip of Adam Ruins Everything, comedy with facts. In this case about how the US could make doing taxes much easier, but because of lobbying, they don’t.

I’m in the Netherlands and we have return free filing. I’n done with my taxes in one evening. And half of that evening is procrastination.