FreeBSD vs. Linux => New User

At the risk of starting a holy war…

Today I upgraded my computer from Windows XP home to Windows XP Pro. I did it, but I hated it. I’ve had it with Bill Gates and want to move onto a *nix environment.

I had heard great things about RedHat 9.0, but I found out that it is no longer available. Red Hat now has Enterprise and some other versions. So now I’m left with the question, what is the best *nix environment for a new user?

I’ve used unix and am very comfortable in the environment. At least I know how to do things like ls -l, vi, etc. I’ve installed cygwin on a previous computer. That is to say I’m not a complete newbie to *nix.

I don’t need a server. I use my home PC for various home stuff, such as budgeting, some programming and general web surfing and e-mail.

I found several sites describing the major differences between FreeBSD and Linux, but it doesn’t answer the biggest question for me (beyond “it depends”): Which is best for me, the casual user?

What are the biggest and most significant differences between FreeBSD and Linux for a new, casual user?

From this page comes a good explanation of the difference. In the section titled Integration:

I read a good summation once: With Linux, you are given all the pieces needed to build a fine model. With BSD, you are given the built model.

It comes down to preference, though, and that is the beauty of *nix flavors. I’ve tried FeeBSD and OpenBSD, but the structure takes me back to Solaris 4.1.3 (naturally), and that just makes me shudder.

There are other differences. BSD flavors partition disks differently, for one.

Do what most people do: keep trying distributions until you find the one that makes you giggle. One size does not fit all.

And if we are voting on good distributions for casual beginners, then let me put in for FreeBSD on the BSD side and Mandrake on the Linux side.