Friends wife in a coma. What do I do?

OK, I have several questions here but first let me give you more info.

My friend Jim’s wife, Deb, had a stroke on Wednesday and went into a coma. She is 42 years old and has a one year old son. I knew her only somewhat. I shared an office with Jim for about a year adn go to lunch or have barbecues with him about once every two weeks these days. I’ve known him for a total of about 2 years. The news came this morning that tests show that there is very little chance of her ever coming out of the coma and that the brain damage is extensive enough that she wouldn’t be a functional adult if she did emerge.

Ok, now the questions.

1. What are my responsibilities here? Should I visit the hospital? Who should I keep informed? Should I offer to take care of the baby? I have some experience with babies.

2. I am an advocate of pulling the plug once if all the doctors agree that she’ll never be Deb again. What are the rules on this? I think that Deb’s mom feels this way too, but I haven’t talked to Jim about it yet. Should I?

3. I’m going on vacation for a week starting this weekend. Should I call from vacation or wait until I get back? Should I cancel vacation?

4. This whole experience is giving me nightmares. She was entirely too young and heathy for this to happen. We played Bocci Ball the day before the stroke. Should I worry about my own reactions here?

1. What are my responsibilities here? Should I visit the hospital? Who should I keep informed? Should I offer to take care of the baby? I have some experience with babies.

Yes I’d visit the hospital. You don’t need to inform anyone unless Jim asks you to. Yes, you should offer to help with their baby and accept a yes or no answer from Jim gracefully.
2. I am an advocate of pulling the plug once if all the doctors agree that she’ll never be Deb again. What are the rules on this? I think that Deb’s mom feels this way too, but I haven’t talked to Jim about it yet. Should I?