From Russia with love: Stalin was "the most successful leader of the U.S.S.R."

According to this article, Russia’s firing up the old Motherland propaganda machine:

In isolation, this is not too alarming, but it seems like another link in a disturbing chain, considering Russia’s recent past. From a dozens of top reporters being killed for revealing ugly truths about corruption in government to that assassination on British soil to the Nasi (who some refer to as “Putin’s Youth”) essentially acting as government sponsored thugs…

I’m no expert at all, but it seems Russia is trying to rally the people into a frenzy of nationalism and xenophobia (remember all that hubbub over Estonia moving a statue?). According to the cited article, 2/3 of older Russian teenagers believe America is an “enemy”, and more than half believe that Stalin was a wise leader.

What’s going on? Should we be alarmed?

Yes, we should be concerned. Putin is as vile as Stalin. He’s getting bolder too.

I wouldn’t put Putin in the Stalin category - yet. I mean, Stalin was responsible for the deaths of millions of people. Until Putin starts shooting people in the head en masse, he’s not in the same league.

But yes, we should be worried. Russia is becoming authoritarian and aggressive. Putin is stepping way over the line by ordering executions in other countries, and he’s clamping down on dissent at home. We don’t know where this will stop yet, but Russia’s on a dangerous path.

My ex-wife is Russian and her family live there (Moscow specifically). I am still in contact with them. It is bad, very, very bad.

I’m not certain what it is in the Russian psyche. It does appear to hold true though that Russians (generality) would rather have a “strong” leader and less freedoms than a “weak” leader and more freedom.

What? No love for Catherine II?