Fugu

Fugu is a delicacy enjoyed in Japan. It’s made from the poisonous blowfish. If not properly prepared it will kill you. So how did the first Fugu chef learn his trade? I’m thinking trial and error is not the way to go here. So when was Fugu first served and who discovered how tasty it is if you eat around the bad parts?

Hi, rebelyell, and welcome to the SDMB!

Boy, you jump right in, doncha? I’m still a newbie and haven’t yet thought of anything with which to begin a thread, but you go right for the jugular! :slight_smile:

Might try doing a google search, to find out, because I really don’t have a clue how it all started. I just wanted to welcome you aboard.

Of course, possibly you’ve already tried that, and in that case, flopped in your searchings, so this would be the best place to find your answer.

Not from moi of course, but you know…the other 14,000 or so posters here could probably be of some service.

Again, welcome!

Fugu for You!

The fugu you eat pretty much won’t kill you. But there ARE deadly pufferfish. Don’t just hop in the ocean, catch one, and expect to be able to chow down safely.

I’ve heard that the real connoisseurs like their fugu when it has the tiniest bit of poison in it, so they just get a slight tingle off it, but not enough to make them sick or kill them. Somewhat unreliable source.

I saw a fugu chef on tv once. He said that he had to study under a master fugu chef for 10 years before he could serve it himself. I think he said it costs about $110 per serving.