Game/Match, Practice/Training

When I started playing American football, I noticed that our American guy said *game *instead of match, and *practice *instead of training, which led me to the conclusion that game/practice is American English for the British English Match/Training. However, as the years have passed, watching games on TV and so forth, I’m not so sure anymore; the words seem more or less interchangeable no matter from what side of the Atlantic you’re speaking.

In short, what *is *the straight dope on game/match on the one hand, and practice/training on the other? (They *are *synonyms, right?)

In the USA, we just use ‘game’ for our major sports. Match is reserved for tennis and some snobby sports (Polo match).

Training versus Practice: In major sports in the USA, you train for a season. You practice for a game.

Sports like boxing, running, biking and swimming… you train for those.

This hardly covers all the bases.

It was a bit more complicated than I thougt, but that’s probably why I never got a hold on these words. Much appreciated.

Training is something you do to get your body into shape. It’s doing sprints or lifting weights. Practice is something you do to get good at the sport. It’s playing catch, batting in the cages, or running some plays repetitively.

Matches only exist in one-on-one sports like tennis (and chess ;)) Games are played between teams.

Anyone want to play a doubles game? Exception proves the rule? Note: I’m not familiar with tennis beyond pressing some buttons or waggling a remote.

A game of tennis is merely a subset of a match.