Gangsta shooting pose

You know what I’m talking about. Whenever you see a movie or TV show about African American gangsters they’re always holding the gun sideways, even when they’re shooting something from afar.
I’m not a shooting expert by any means, so I ask just effective is that shooting style? How hard is to aim the gun when you’re holding it like that?

It worked for Simon and Simon.

Extremely ineffective.

Which is why so many bystanders are killed by gang shooters. They’re morons who throw out bullets indiscriminately, hoping to hit something while looking badass doing it.
Back in 1999, a friend and I went to a local range on the edge of the city. Due to overflow, we got put in the separated 6 bay rifle range. A bunch of gang punks came in to shoot in their as well.

Idiots couldn’t hit the broad side of a planet if they were standing on it. We were openly laughing our asses off at them while they scowled and tried to look threatening at us. Except they kept looking at our targets (tight groups) and the (much larger caliber) guns we were using and then changing their minds about doing anything about it.

Probably for the best that they didn’t take the time and effort to observe our shooting techniques and try it for themselves.

You need to get these installed. :smiley:
One of the gun magazines tested this a few years back and had greater difficulty controlling recoil and accuracy was reduced.

We have covered this one a few times before. They think it is supposed to look stylish for them although I am not sure why. It looks retarded and is even more ineffective as a shooting pose. Holding it the right way would be easier on all levels.

When extended out with the weapon in the vertical position, a handgun will generally return to the vicinity of the aiming point after the recoil, particularly if one is holding it in a shooter’s stance with both hands. Gravity will naturally bring one’s arms back to the horizontal position