gasoline octane and motors

My sister asked me this question yesterday and I couldn’t answer it. She drives a Mini Cooper S whose manual asks for premium gasoline. What with prices and all, she filled up the other day with a normal variety of gasoline. She asked if this would harm the engine as we were driving, the only thing I could think of was to ask her if she was getting engine “knocks” and she said no. Any doper with technical knowledge about this? thanks

I am not a mechanic.
However, all the engine management systems that I know of today include knock sensors that will retard ignition timing in the event of premature combustion. So limited use should pose little or no problem. She may however notice slightly less power (or peppiness) and possibly reduced economy depending upon how aggressive the anti-knock system responds.

However, knowing that all senors have a threshold below which the system is not ging to respond, and given that manufacturer specifies premium fuel I personally wouldn’t make a habit of using low octane fuel if I intended to keep the car for a long while. Besides, the minicule savings just isn’t wortht the potential monster repair costs. Assuming 20 cents a gallon difference and only 25mpg average, that still amounts to paying just $120 more on a $2200 annual fuel bill.

If the manufacturer says that high octane gas is required for the engine to run properly, then the consumer should put high octane gas in their tank. The engine will develop problems overtime if these instructions are not followed.

If the engine does not explicitly require high octane gas, putting higher octane gas in the tank will provide no benefit.

Will it hurt the engine? It can, but with a modern car like the Mini, probably not. It will affect performance, however.

I found a really good article in Car and Driver that explains it far better than I could.

And less than $3 per tank (the Mini has about a 13 gallon tank).