GB vs England, Ireland, etc.

I was looking at the leaderboard for the US Open here:
http://www.usopen.com/
After each player’s name, they have their flag of national origin.
I noticed a lack of union jacks - instead, they identify British players as being English, Scottish, etc.
What governs when someone is British as opposed to - say - English?
Or did I just never notice before that athletes and such are never described as British?

In sports, it depends how the sport in question has decided to identify players.
In the Olympics, there’s a GB team (covering England, Scotland and Wales) and an Ireland team (covering both the republic and the north)

In football, there’s separate teams for England, Scotland, Wales, N Ireland and RoI. Place of birth and parentage both play a part in a person’s eligibility to play for a team.

In Rugby Union, there’s England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland, with similar eligibility rules.

In the US Open - well, I’m no golf expert, but they’ve obviously decided to identify British players by their home nation (or perhaps to allow British players to choose how to identify themselves).

National and regional identity in Britain is a complicated matter! :slight_smile:

I should point out that technically, Scotland, Wales, England, and Ireland are all seperate nations, with bits of them united into a single country in the United Kingdom. Britain is also a nation, incorporating at least three other nations.

I’m not sure what you mean by “bits of them”, except for the case of Ireland (which has Northern Ireland as part of the UK, and the Republic of Ireland as a seperate nation).

None of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland is a “nation state” in the internationally accepted sense.

I thought the Great Britain Olympic team included Northern Ireland? I’m thinking of Mary Peters in 1972, for example.