Genealogists: share your tips

I started this because most genealogists are, like me, self taught, and thus sometimes we’ll be experts at an obscure source nobody else seems to know about but something that’s almost basic knowledge to most genealogists we have no idea even existed. Also, even if you’re skilled, we all hit brick walls and go nuts over that one piece of missing info, so please share any sources or search tips that have been really helpful to you.

========================================

Federal Agricultural Censuses- 1850-1870

These were part of but separate from the regular Population Census but if your ancestors lived on a farm (and unless you’re an umpteenth generation big city-ite then at least some of them probably did) they’re a goldmine as far as telling you how your Civil War era ancestors actually lived. They’re set up by the name of the property owner and include such information as size of farm, number of improved/unimproved acres and value of each, what crops are grown and how much, how many livestock and animals they own, how much butter they’ve churned, etc…
One thing I find interesting in my family, all of whom were in Alabama at that time, is how few of them grew cotton. The richer ones, all of the slaveowning ones, of course grew it as a cash crop, but the yeoman farmers I descend from rarely produced more than 3 or 4 bales (it was just too labor intensive) and concentrated instead on corn and other staples. I learned that several grew rice and raised sheep, neither of which was uncommon in the state at that time but also not activities associate with Alabama.