Geometry problem (NOT homework)

I assure you that this is not a homework problem, I’m a nearly 40-year-old computer programmer just trying to measure plywood to cover a window to protect it from hurricanes.

Please see this line-art drawing of the window:
http://revtim.250free.com/windows.pdf

I have all the outer measurements (in the larger font), and 25" is the measurement from the bottom leftmost corner to 25 inches in, to the first red line.

I do not remember how to figure out how long the first red line is.

I’d simply make the whole thing and then split it into thirds afterwards, but the plywood sheets aren’t big enough to do this, I have to make the “thirds” from scratch.

I tried to find the solution to this on Geometry web sites, but no luck.

First red line shall be designated as r.

The section of r above the horizontal line shall be designated as x.

Then you have:

r = 37.5 + x

The right side of the triangle is 62.5 - 37.5 = 15.

This gives us the equation 15/x = 74/25, or x = 15:(74/25) = 5.07

r = 37.5 + 5.07 = 40.07

Okay, first off. All three acute triangles sharing that narrow angle are similar. (with their right edges being segments of the two red lines, and the rightmost vertical black line in the figure.) Therefore, the ratio of their corresponding edges will always be a constant.

For the largest triangle, the ratio of height to base is 25:74 (25 being 62.5 - 37.5) Since the smallest triangle’s base is also 25, its base, (which is the portion of the leftmost red line that sticks up above the black horizontal line) will be 25/74*25 or about 8.45

The bottom section of both red lines are 37.5 long, so the first red line will be a total of about 45.95 inches long.

This is assuming that the quadrilateral on the bottom is a perfect rectangle, of course, which it seems to be.
on preview: schnitte, I think you miscalculated 62.5 - 37.5 and lost ten.

Looks like a “similar triangles” problem. Or maybe even just a Pythagorean Theorem problem.