gift for a stranger

I’m going to be a bridesmaid in a friend’s wedding. The bride’s mom is making all the bridesmaid’s dresses. I think I’m the only bridesmaid who isn’t family. Having just married last October, I know that cheap bridesmaid’s dresses can cost $100 plus alterations. I feel like I should do something for the bride’s mom, but I’m not sure what. From my one visit to her house (for a fitting) I know that she has two big dogs and is into decorating/renovating her house. The bride has allergies, so I’m wary of getting anything too… fragrant. Any ideas on appropriate ettiquette or gifts would be helpful. I was thinking a gift would be appropriate, but maybe I should pay her? As a last resort I could go shopping with the bride, but I’m afraid I would be pressured to spend more money than should. (I’m a college student-- this will be going on a credit card.)

only offer to pay for the dress if you really can afford it.

I mean, it would be nice if you said,“are you sure I can’t pay for it? maybe pay for the material?”

but what if she takes you up on it?

A gift is a good idea.

The gift of food is always nice, as it is something everyone has in common.
maybe a basket of homemade muffins?

If she likes decorating, perhaps a plant?

or

Seeing as she is the bride’s mom, maybe a nicely embroidered handkerchief? I have seen some nice ones that can be personalized with a date. Its not an expensive gift, but it’s nice in that it’s a sweet gift as moms cry at weddings.

when a friend’s mom put me up for the summer once, i made her a cosmetics bag. it was pretty, cheap, useful, and easy to make.

then again, during a fight with her daughter that summer she called me ungrateful (in french, no less!) so what do i know?

Chocolate always seems to be popular. :slight_smile:

Food gifts are a great idea. A variation on Bad News Baboon muffin basket idea is a basket with food from your local area. eg little pot of honey, tea/coffee, local cheese’s etc you get the idea.