going nearly paperless: Kindle DX vs iPad?

As a PhD student, I find myself doing a nontrivial amount of reading. Printing every article and book is prohibitively expensive, not just monetarily but also temporally (wrestling with printers) and spatially (where do I put them?). This latter is exacerbated by my struggle with organization. So I find myself reading PDFs on my iPhone 4, which is … fine … but the text is very small and I can only see a small portion of the page.

So I’m thinking of buying a dedicated document reader. The obvious choices seem to be the Kindle DX and the iPad: I’ve really wanted an iPad for a while [I’m an Apple guy] but it seems that the Kindle may be much easier to read for significant lengths of time.

Opinions expressed on a recent thread seem to prefer the iPad, but I’m afraid that spending hours each day reading the iPad would irritate my eyes. On the other hand, economists have an infatuation with graphs/charts/equations, which I suppose may be not be optimal for an e-ink screen.

Any suggestions? If it makes any difference, I never highlight or take notes in margins, because I’m weird.

When you read articles and books, do you usually do it with a pen, pencil or highlighter in hand?

If the answer is yes, I don’t think you’ll be happy with either option. Instead, get a real tablet PC, one with an active digitizer (i.e. Wacom style stylus).