Google Ordered to Remove 'Innocence of Muslims' From YouTube

Title of the article (and this thread) sounds like a blatant 1st Amendment violation, but:

Is there precedent to this type of copyright complaint?

I don’t see it as a First Amendment issue, any more than any other video taken down from Youtube for copyright claims.

I’m not a lawyer and I can’t comment on the validity of her copyright claim - but that seems to be the basis of the ruling.

CT wonders how much Cindy Lee Garcia received and from whom to file the complaint.

This surprised me, though:

Google wasn’t pleased. “We strongly disagree with this ruling and will fight it,” a Google spokesperson told Mashable.

Doesn’t Google have a pretty strict policy on YouTube content?

There’s certainly precedent for bogus copyright complaints as a tool of censorship. That said, Garcia would seem to have a valid (though perhaps not compelling) case if she was indeed tricked into giving permission to use her image under false pretenses, particularly if the final edit gives the false impression that she agrees with Pastor Terry Jones’ bigoted asshattery.

Well, like when you have a strict rules for your kid and someone else tells you to tell the kid to stop doing something. It’s a fundamental flaw with out society that no one is supposed to say anything about how you are raising your kid. I suspect with Google they just don’t like the idea of someone else telling them (they have) to take something down.

Seems like there is. Movie studios ask Youtube to remove all kinds of things. This seems like a disputed contract issue between the owner of the film and an actor.

Of course the stupid people commenting on this on Yahoo comments or something like that all think its a 1st Amendment issue :rolleyes: