Guitar Chord A/F#

May be a dumb question, but I’m a beginner guitarist and was just perusing the acoustic tab for Radiohead’s Fake Plastic Trees.
The chords seem well suited to a beginner but I have a question about the chord:

A/F# (2x0220)

You can probably see where my problem lies. How do I strum this chord, specifically the A string - is it muted?

This context (thanks to Rigs for tab - moderator hope its ok to post a snippet of publicly available data):

A---------------- E-------- A/F#-----------------------AMaj7----DSus2
Her green plastic watering can, for her fake Chinese rubber plant

The easiest way (for me, anyway) is to wrap your thumb around the neck to fret the E and mute the A.

I’ll give it a whirl tonight. Thanks

Reminds me to pay my subs :smack:

Yeah, that’s pretty much the only way to do it without contorting your hand. I avoid the whole problem by playing without a pick.

I’m not sure where they get that chord name. An “A over F#” would simply be an F#m7 in the first place, but the voicing shown has a D in it, which makes it a Dmaj9 (first inversion).

I don’t play guitar well enough to suggest a fingering, but if that is an A major triad with an F# in the bass, you have two choices. Consider that an F#minor 7th chord is enharmonically equivalent and play that, or treat the F# as an instruction for the bass player and the guitarist needs to only play the A major triad.

It depends on whether you have a bass player or not, of course.

And I am also assuming that this notation is horizontal: A/F#, not vertical like:

A

F#

…which is usually taken to be polyphonic, or an A major triad in the higher pitch range with an F# major triad in the lower (pitches would be F#, A#, C#, A, C#, E). Can’t help you with that fingering, and it’s probably not what was intended.