Guitar Heroes: how do they create and re-play the solo?

I listen to everything from Pat Metheny to Buckethead. I am always amazed and appreciative of how an expert guitarist can pull-off a long solo piece. I always thought that a solo just sort of flowed out of the artist, but then they can do a repeat performance live and I wonder how they can remember all those notes. Using modern techniques, some guitarists can rip-out 10, 15, 20 notes per second at places in a solo that can last for 5 or 10 minutes at a time. I have a picture in my head of a performer going thru their new solo in front of a page of written notes, stopping to correct a note (scribble), then starting a few bars back and going forward once they are satisfied (clearly I am not a musician and cannot read or write music). This cannot be how modern guitar solos are created, but then how is the artist able to repeat the solo live and stay mostly true to the recorded, studio version?

I guess that is the difference between learning how to play a song and playing music. That old saying: “An amateur practices until they get it right. A professional practices until they cannot get it wrong” comes to mind.

Well there’s two main schools of thought on the subject: composed and improvised.

For composed solos, it’s simple: you memorize and play what’s been written.

For improvised, it’s not really that difficult. When I was in a recording band I could play a spontaneous solo and recreate it accurately without practice as long as I could listen to what I’d recorded a few times, and when you’re making professional recordings, you’re going to be hearing everything dozens of times.

Most solos can be thought of in sections, like words in a sentence. The “words” are just solo licks and fast arpeggio runs, tied together with standard noodling. All you need to do is remember the sentence, and muscle memory will pretty much do the rest.