Guitar Lesson Prices? (poll)

I’ve played guitar for quite a while. I have never taken lessons, but I was a paid musician on a fairly regular basis. I recently talked to a friend who gives lessons part-time for extra cash (she plays piano).

I have put some thought into this - I would like to give it a go. I have tutored and taught at the local college (TA type work) so am familiar with teaching, just not guitar. I also have a lot of experience, so I know I can work through teaching guitar.
I have a few little kinks to work out first, but I am working toward having a few students lined up…

So, here’s the poll:

1.) Have you ever purchased music lessons for you or your child?

1a.) What instrument?

1b.) How much were you charged?

1c.) Was it at a shop or from a private teacher?

2.) If #1 was no, what would you consider a reasonable price?

3.) If I charged a flat rate, would it be out of line to charge $10 (or so) for a rental fee if the student doesn’t have an instrument and would need to use one of mine?

Brendon

1.) Have you ever purchased music lessons for you or your child? Yes

1a.) What instrument? Piano / Drums

1b.) How much were you charged? Piano = $20/30 min Drums = $25/30 min

1c.) Was it at a shop or from a private teacher? Shop with teachers

2.) If #1 was no, what would you consider a reasonable price? N/A

3.) If I charged a flat rate, would it be out of line to charge $10 (or so) for a rental fee if the student doesn’t have an instrument and would need to use one of mine?

$10 per lesson might be a tad steep. $10 forever is probably a bit low. Most stores around us rent student instruments for a fixed period of time - generally with a rent-to-own proposition.