Guitar literacy for the piano/woodwinds player

I would like to be able to understand more of what I read in the guitar-related threads here on the Dope, and in guitar-based analysis of rock music. I can read music, but I’m primarily self-taught and don’t know much music theory. So at this point I’m in over my head pretty quickly when it comes to chord names and roman numerals.

I’m wondering what would be a good approach to learn some more about chord-based music. So far I’ve been reading a little music theory on the web, and playing chords on the piano. As an alternative, I could try to learn more about chords and chord progressions by playing around with an acoustic guitar (a relative has offered to loan me one). Does anyone have suggestions about whether piano or guitar would be better for learning purposes? I plan to work on this in my spare time, and I’m prepared for it to take a while.

If you are looking at the structure of music theory and chord construction, piano is the “atomic structure” for that.

If you are trying to learn more about guitar-based rock and understand how different chord voicings affect the sound of the song - e.g., why use barre chords and what’s a power-chord vs. a standard barre chord? - or how different physical techniques are used to create sounds - stuff like hammer-ons or pinch harmonics with your picking hand to sound like ZZ Top - then I would recommend a beginner guitar video or surfing youtube for various posted attempts at Guitar 101 type videos. Guitar is about theory, sure, but it is a layered, tactile instrument, which can contain nylon-stringed classical and heavy-gauged, Dropped-D-tuned metal assaults under the same tent, so if you are looking to speak that language, you should start with the basics. There is a 30-plus-year-old series called Hot Licks taught by Arlen Roth. I watch his short Lesson of the Day clips at the Gibson.com website. He is very good. You might search out his starter rock guitar video…