Gun experts

I want to give my hand gun to my niece who lives in Texas. Her son is here in Florida visiting his grandmother and me but will soon be returning to Texas. I have no experience in transporting guns on airliners but I believe they can be sent in checked bags provided they are not loaded and the airline is notified in advance. Is this true?

Can bullets be transported at the same time under the same conditions?

I am concerned that the gun just might be stolen by our TSA inspectors; if this is a valid concern, what would be a better way to send it?

Thanks for any and all inputs.

You don’t need a “gun expert,” just someone who’s tried to take a firearm on an airplane. Personally I’ve never been willing to risk it, but I’ve never been in your situation. Here’s the relevant TSA link.

“Airlines may have additional requirements for traveling with firearms and ammunition. Travelers should also contact the airline regarding firearm and ammunition carriage policies.”
“Travelers must declare all firearms to the airline during the ticket counter check-in process.
The firearm must be unloaded.
The firearm must be in a hard-sided container.
The container must be locked.”
Et cetera.

I don’t see any problems between FL and TX. Yes, check it, not carry on. Inform the ticket person and they will tell you what to do, but check in advance with the airline re: how to package it. Here is their page, basically hard container with a lock. Please make sure that there are no requirements that he is the owner and not just transporting etc. I don’t think they can verify that but just in case… also he must be legally able to possess a pistol (21+ and not a felon at least).

Yes, ammo can be brought, see the page. Same case is okay but see packaging requirements.