Has an Artist ever been assasinated?

I reckon we could come up with a few examples of prominent artists, a bit too inflammatory for their times, being imprisoned and executed by their government, but does anyone know of an example of a prominent artist (any medium: writer, painter, musician, etc. etc.) being the target of assasination? Doesn’t seem entirely off-the-wall but I can’t think of any.

Lohn Lennon?

:smack: sorry John

There is also the case of Austrian composer Anton Webern who was shot in 1945 by an American soldier. But the soldier didn’t know who he was and thought he was a smuggler.

John Lennon was more of a musician than he was an artist

Nero! :smiley:

:rolleyes:
You got a problem with musicians, or is it just failure to grasp elementary concepts of the English language? Musicians are artists. As a musician I take offense at your utterance.

A militant feminist attempted to murder Andy Warhol and almost succeeded.

Selena was “assassinated” by the president of her fan club, as I recall.

Hey, Marshall07 note the OP- any medium: Musicians count.

I can’t believe I didn’t think of Lennon. Although, I was thinking more along the lines of political assasination- not “crazy guy gets a plane ticket and a gun”. Mark Chapman and Valerie Solanas aren’t quite the agents was I was thinking of. I was wondering about artists who may have been assasinated because they were viewed as a threat to certain powers.

Frederico Garcia Lorca was killed by a pro-Franco fascist gang in 1936.

Marxist film director Pier Paulo Pasolini was murdered in 1975; this was blamed on a lone individual but may have had a political component, bearing in mind the political violence then common in Italian society.