Has an invasive animal ever been removed from it's new eco-niche, once established?

I was reading about the plight of the red squirrel in the UK the other day, that has been pushed out of it’s eco-niche in Britain by our more aggressive gray tree rats, and then thought about our own problems with Chinese snakeheads in Maryland, and Australia’s experience with the cane toad.

Has there ever been an instance of an invasive animal being effectively removed from it’s new eco-niche, once established?

\begin hijack

My dad recently captured some grey squirrels from a neighbours loft using an ingenious home made squirrel trap. He released said squirrels into a nearby wood.
I pointed out that this was illegal under the Destructive Imported Animals Act 1932. But I said I would not tell on him to the police.

\end hijack

Dinosaurs?

Interesting question. No, not that I know of.

I’m not an expert on animals, but I can name many examples of invasive plants filling ecological niches in the Netherlands in the last 30 years.
For example, there have been a few escaped aquarium/gardenpond plants that escaped and subsequently became a pest in the local canals. An example is Elodia Canadensis. They’ve tried to control it, quite active, but unsuccesfully. After about 10 to 15 years, it found a balance and now no longer is a pest.
For others the balancing out takes longer, like the tree Prunus Serotina in Dutch forests. It is lest of a pest then it was 10 years ago, but still a problem locally.

From what I remember… There was an article somewhere in UFL-NAPA about how a team led by UF scientists was able to erradicate some (invasive) tree parasite.

Here is the link.

The dept of conservation in NZ has has success on some small islands. They were cleared of pests like possums, rats, rabbits, stoats etc and are now used as sanctuarys for endangered native birds. These are very small areas though.