Has anyone been in this type of situation? (Job related)

Well, I just got let go from my job. I asked why I was let go, but they said the site I work for didn’t give a reason, just that they wanted to change people or something.

I work as a security officer at a corporate company. So, I am a contractor. I have never been written up or disciplined in anyway. Pretty much always on time, so I see nothing wrong there. Have been working there almost 3 years or so.

1. What do you make of this? Do you think I deserve a reason? I worked pretty hard.
  2. Is there anything I can do? Push for some type of closure?

Odds are that someone didn’t like you and asked that you be removed from the account. Less likely is some spurious accusation resulting in a request to remove you from the site, in which case they thought it was either too stupid to tell you, or your knowledge of it would cause issues (like it wasn’t totally on the up-and-up or possibly even illegal).

I was ‘removed’ from the Midway Perkins account (midnight to 5am in a bad neighborhood) because I (a 46 year old white guy armed only with a gun) refused to wade into a fight between ten 20-something year old gang members. This was less than a month after one of our guys was removed from the site because he DID wade into a fight and beat their asses. Suited me, I had no interest in being there given the shit that constantly went down.

I was ‘removed’ after one day from a liquor store account because there was too much shoplifting while I was there, forced to remain at the front door with only a couple of very brief restroom breaks in an 8 hour shift. Two days after another guy had been removed for the same reason. One of their complaints was that someone lifted some expensive Patron from a spot that I couldn’t see, but they had a ‘manager’ within 10 feet of it, and somehow that was my fault.