Has anyone entered the Paris and/or Roman catacombs?

Preferably deep inside, beyond what is normally open to the public. Is it true that the deeper you go, the colder it gets? That’s what a friend who visited the one in Rome says (also what JK Rawling wrote about the Gringotts vaults.) I was an underground mine geologist for several years and I know that the deeper you go, the hotter it’s supposed to get. That’s what ventilation engineers are for.

We might also ask engineers exactly why it gets hot in the mines the deeper one gets.

Normally and in general, at a certain level below ground, temperatures tend to become stable and rather cool. I guess that you know what you’re saying about mines, but then it might be because they’re much deeper than natural caves (or mines/quarries close to the surface, as the Paris catacombes are for the largest part).

I’ve known some “cataphiles” (people venturing in the non-public part of Paris catacombs) and it’s the first time I hear a reference to the temperature becoming colder the lower you go. However, if true, it might be simply because the parts closest to the surface have a lot of exchange by a variety of conducts with outside air hence are closer to surface temperatures, while the deepest part are more insulated from outside temperature variations hence more similar in temperature level to regular natural caves, which might appear unusually cool to someone with no spelunking experience.

I was in some Roman catacombs this summer and it was chilly as soon as you got underground. We were mainly at the same depth the entire trip so I can’t answer your question. The guide didn’t mention anything about it getting colder if you go deeper, just that it was pretty constant temp year round.