Has Anyone here been to a film school?

I’m interested in the medium and may wish to study it in the future. Probably not for at least a couple of years, but I would be interested to hear what you study about and what employment oppurtunities are available in such a field. Anyone ever study film somewhere?

I majored in it at the University of Miami. This was back in the early 90’s, so everything was pre-digital. I loved goofing around with a Bolex and the physicality of splicing film in the editing room. Mostly, I just wanted to make experimental “art” films, although I had a lot of fun writing screenplays for absurdist comedies.

As for career options? I’m now a librarian.

I majored in Radio/TV/Film at Northwestern University. The way their program worked when I went there ('87-'91) you were required to take some foundational courses in film and broadcasting history, criticism, business, and film, TV, and/or audio production. After getting those requirements out of the way, you could choose to concentrate on the aspects interested you. My interest was more in the history and business classes, so I only took the most basic production classes. My short films were less than inspiring.

Today I’m a service quality supervisor for a large tax and accounting firm. But at least I have good taste in movies.

B.A. in Film (double w/English) and M.A. in Film Archiving. Since the B.A. was at UC Berkeley, it wasn’t production-heavy (more an emphasis on history/analysis/etc.); I may have been the only person in my department who didn’t want to make movies. Great school, but not great film-making school.

Similarly, there was a small film-making component with the M.A., but nothing beyond 16mm Bolex work just so we knew our way around the equipment (including AVIDs, etc.) a bit.

So if you’re interested in non-production careers, academic, critic, and film archivist come readily to mind.

Are you willing to study abroad or would it have to be the US?