Hat Manners -can Ya Help A Brother Out?

Does Anyone Know Where The Manner Rule Of Taking One’s Hat Off Once Inside A Building Originated. I Am A School Teacher And Would Be Very
Appreciative If You Could Help Me Out.

According to Emily Post:

and

I hope this helps.

I think the original point was that hats were considered outdoor clothing. You would no more keep your hat on indoors than you would carry your open umbrella into the living room.

Do click the link and read the full article, if only for the sake of the Dr. Seuss cartoon about the International Hat-Doffing Rules Committee revising the rule dealing with “the etiquette of doffing a top hat while carrying a cane, an umbrella, a bust of Catullus and a watermelon”. :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

some quick googling threw up conflicting theories:

and

I was always under the impression that it was a formalised way of showing submission to the head of the household and acceptance of their rules, in the same way that people were expected to kneel/bow/tug their forelock when encountering someone of higher rank. This evolved from ancient times (when it basically meant “Don’t worry, I won’t challenge your authority over your own house”) into modern politeness (“I won’t insult you by keeping my hat on in your house”). Same deal with standing up when someone enters a room- in the old days guests stood until the host made clear they were welcome by asking them to sit.

I posted an answer in your [url=“http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/showthread.php?t=343149”[other thread on the same subject. Basically, (men’s) hats are taken off indoors because they’re outdoor clothing. Ladies’ hats that are meant to decoratively coordinate with their outfits stay on indoors. (Baseball caps and other traditionally male headgear do not, even when worn by women.)

I take off my fedora when I arrive at my cubicle, but not in the common vestibule and hallways of my employer’s facility.