Hate Crimes and Prosecutorial Discretion.

Is there really any way to force a prosecutor to go forward with a case? Prosecutorial discretion basically means (for those of you who don’t know law) that the prosecutor can do whatever he wants with a case. Usually this is a good thing. It means people don’t have to be prosecuted for trivial reasons, or for laws that are rarely enforced anyways. But historically, this means, for example, a racist prosecutor doesn’t have to prosecute the lynching of an African American.

Anyways, it rarely happens anymore with African Americans. Actually, as I write this, I am thinking more of gay people being the victims.

How do you force a prosecutor to prosecute? And is there any way?

:slight_smile:

P.S. I am putting this in GD because, although this calls for a factual answer, once the factual answer is given, I hope this can become a moral debate about the system.

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer.

For a start, lynching is murder and I’m willing to bet there is no straightforward prosecutorial discretion on that. So I think that is not a good example.

Let’s be clear: there is the crime (arson, assault or murder, for example) and then there is the motive (hatred against a protected class, or some other motive). If the crime is a felony, it will be prosecuted if possible. The “hate crime” aspect may or may not be prosecuted, based on a variety of factors.

My sense has always been that the ability to add a more serious penalty for a crime if it can be proved to be a hate crime is there so that crimes with relatively small penalties (even felony assault may not bring much jail time to a first-time convict) can result in more severe penalties, for more of a deterrent effect (there is of course room for side debates on whether this works as a deterrent, or whether increasing the penalty based on motivation makes for good law).