Have you noticed people using "release" as an intransitive verb

I see it a lot online now especially on gaming websights
“This game will release in 5 weeks”
It’s wrong. You should say “this game will be released in 5 weeks”

I’m impressed you are so knowledgeable about intransitive verbs. I had to look up the definition.

I’m impressed you bothered to look up the definition. I figured someone else would come along and explain.

I have a degree in Latin. If there’s one thing I do know, it’s pedantic grammar terms.

I haven’t noticed to the point of recognizing it, but in a strict sense its not wrong; simply because ‘rules of grammar’ are ‘descriptive’ of the language and not ‘prescriptive.’ If the rule and common usage disagree, its the rule that needs to be amended to reflect reality.

This seems related to “The album will drop in one week.”

Is this simply an evolution of “ship”?

As in “The new version of HotGame ships/will ship next week.”

AFAICT “shipping” for a long time no longer referred specifically to the physical movement of installation media - it simply meant the software was ready for distribution/download.

I’m no expert, tho, so this is an interesting language question I hope more people weigh in on.

Obligatory Latin Grammar link.

Indeed, “drop” (meaning “to be released to the public”) is the one that puzzles me. I never seemed to hear it until about a year ago, and now it’s everywhere! Trailers drop, albums drop, videos drop. I don’t think novels drop, but maybe I’m just not reading the more hip kind of novels.

“Release” is also used for the outcome :wink: of a happy ending.

But passive voice is supposed to be bad form (according to some people), so it shuould be “<Name of publisher> will release the game in 5 weeks.”

McKean’s law in action.

There’s nothing inherently wrong with passive voice. Your high school teacher just tells you it’s blanketly wrong because it sounds awkward when used incorrectly. That’s easier than teaching good style.