Have you set up a Web site with a CMS? Advise me, please.

I’m planning on updating my business Web site to a more sophisticated Content Management System-based platform, but I’m far from an expert on the topic. I publish a small, niche, B2B print newsletter, and although my expanded business model may include print, what I’m looking for here is basic advice about setting up a CMS-based site. I am not a programmer/coder, and I won’t have time to become one. I’ll be focusing on content and keeping the business running.

The site will have news items, feature articles, links to external press releases, articles, videos, etc. We will probably accept advertising. Naturally, we’ll have a significant social component, since that seems to be the sine qua non these days.

My questions are nearly infinite, but this batch will do for now:

1. How do I select a CMS/provider/host?

2. Should I hire someone to set it up initially and hand it over to me to operate and maintain, or will I need a dedicated Webmaster, even if s/he is part time?

3. If the latter, would I be better off using a provider/host who will provide support?

4. What are your opinions of the various CMSes out there? Ning, Joomla, WordPress, Drupal, etc.?

5. How can I guarantee that a CMS/provider I select now will be capable of handling the site if it expands and is very successful?

6. How much should I expect to pay for all these various alternatives?

I’m particularly interested in hearing from people who’ve actually set up and/or run business sites that use a CMS. Thanks.

1. Try out a demo of several CMS apps and find one you’re comfortable with that does what you need.

Then look for a well-known host that specializes in that CMS. Avoid the cheapest hosting; saving $5 a month on hosting is false economy.