HDTV bad for kids' eyes...??

Got my HD satellite installed today, and the install tech said that his brother, an optometrist, claims that HD sets are significantly worse for children’s eyes than standard TV sets.

Sounds like bunk to me, but has anyone heard anything along these lines? Any bizarre studies out there?

No clue why HDTV is worse than standard, nor why it’s the case just for children…

Dono about the HD part but the TV part is what’s bad for them in general.

Yeah, but the guy was adament, that HD was worse.

Is TV in general bad (ignoring the content for a moment) in smaller doses in lit rooms?

I’m not a doctor, but I do know a lot about video display devices. The only difference between an HDTV and a standard TV is the amount of lines of information being displayed. Thats it. Nothing else. If I had to guess, I’d say it would actually be easier on the eyes because it provides a more seamless image.

This would be like saying that running a higher resolution on your computer monitor is bad for your eyes.

Because of the improved picture quality, children are more enticed to sit closer to the screen, and rest their eyes on the display. This, at least in labratory rats, has led to chafing and vision imparing callouses forming on the lens of the eye.

That’s actually true. It makes the text smaller and lowers the refresh rate. At 1280x1024, my refresh rate is so bad, I have to lower my resolution if I’m going to be looking at my monitor for long periods of time to avoid major eye fatigue.

You sure about that?

I dunno, the enhanced realism might lead to motion sickness or focusing issues in younger children. Just a WAG.

Well, thats only because you’re straining the system too hard so that it forces it into a lower refresh. If you had a better video card/monitor combo, you can easily go that high (and much higher) and still have good refresh rate.