He Fell for the Tech Support Scam Call - How to Check Computer?

My boyfriend is very computer illiterate. I consider myself an intermediate user but compared to him I am an expert, however I am not sure if he was infected when this happened or how to check the computer other than usual virus scans.

My BF just got a new computer, his last one was pretty much killed by viruses. Despite mine and his friend’s warnings he would click on those pop-ups that say “you’re infected!”. We’d install antiviruses and adblocks and so on but he’d still somehow fall victim. So when he got his new computer we both warned him repeatedly don’t click on any pop-ups and don’t download anything. Well, we didn’t think to warn him about the Tech Support Scam call.

So today he calls and tells me that he’s been getting numerous calls from Tech Support and he finally answered and the guy told him to hit the “fn” and “r” keys which he did but then the guy hung up and BF panicked and unplugged the computer.

I’ve been doing some research and I can’t see how they could access his computer typing those keys without him actually going to some site and allowing them access. I think the guy just got disconnected before he finished giving my BF the instructions. As proof of this, he called back while we were on the phone but this time the BF hung up. So I’m thinking they didn’t get access and that’s why they are still calling. I told him to disconnect from the internet, turn the computer on, run his AVG and then run Malwarebytes.