Helicopter crash in Seattle

A news helicopter used by KOMO 4 and KING 5 crashed near the Space Needle. Witnesses say the helicopter appeared to be landing on the rooftop pad, and then fell off, landing on two cars. They’re showing the cars on TV now, and they are burned. [Update: Now they’re saying four cars were involved.]

As a helicopter pilot, I can’t imagine ‘missing’ the landing pad. I think I heard a news reader say that witnesses said the helicopter spun around; but I don’t know if that was before it fell, or on the way down. If the latter, that would be expected. If the former, it sounds like a tail rotor strike or a tail rotor failure. They’ve just said a witness said the helicopter ‘looked like it was trying to land, and “teetered” off the roof.’

They’re saying there’s jet fuel all over the place.

Seattle Fire reports two DOA.

The news programs up here do a lot of sharing of resources. Everybody knows each other in their small community. The traffic reporter (Tracy Chapman?) was barely holding herself together. :frowning:

I’m really sorry to hear about that accident.

Judging from the picture in this article, it ended up in parking lot of the McDonald’s restaurant just east of the space needle.

What rooftop helipad were they trying to land on?

They were landing on the helipad at Fisher Plaza, where KOMO is.

You can see a helicopter on the pad in question, along with the Space Needle and McDonald’s in this Google Maps shot.

Yes, if you look at the Google Earth view, there is a helicopter on that very pad. it might even be the same one, judging by it’s color :frowning:

I don’t see it on the pad.

I saw a photo of a helicopter on the pad, taken from street level. That one (on google) was a JetRanger. The accident helicopter was an A-star. (The JetRanger was having equipment installed, so they were using the A-Star in the meantime.)