Helicopters and their rotation

In a “classic” question that is re-appearing again on the main page (see here), Cecil seems to give a great explanation to something that was not even asked.
The inquirer wanted to know why a chopper doesn’t spin around due to the main rotor’s spinning (a reasonable question based on Newton’s 3rd law). The simple answer is because of the tail rotor – it creates a torque on the vehicle in the opposite direction, thus resulting in a stable, forward-facing helicopter.
The answer given by Cecil launches into some theory about how a helicopter gains forward thrust from the pitch of the rotors, etc. But am I the only one who thinks that this answer was quite a bit off the mark?

Read the question again. The person says that he knows that the helicopter does not spin like a top due to action of the tail rotor. What Cecil says about the pitch of the blades is spot-on. I am a retired Navy Helo mechanic, I have worked on Helos for about 12 years now.

Um, no. The questioner wanted to know how helicopters move forward and backward:

In fact, in his question, I-from-Chicago says he knows the purpose of the tail rotor:

Unca Cecil answered exactly what the questioner asked.

ETA: Dammit! Ninja’d by the Navy!

Hint: The tail rotor is called the ‘anti-torque rotor’.

Helicopters are fascinating. (Also fun.) How does the anti-torque rotor counteract torque? With thrust. In American helicopters the rotor turns left, so the fuselage tries to yaw right. Left pedal is used to counteract that, so that little fan is blowing to the left. The result is ‘translating tendency’, which is the tendency for the helicopter in hover to move sideways; in American helicopters, to the right. This is compensated for in one of two ways: The transmission is mounted at a slight angle so that the main rotor disc is tilted to the left (in American helicopters), or the flight controls are rigged to give the rotor disc the required sideways tilt when the cyclic is centered.