Help! (Anyone have any insight into Air Force hiring civilians?)

So, I’m not a very prolific poster and most of you don’t know me from Satan, but I know there’s a number of military folk on the board, and I need help.

I’ve recently moved from NYC to Frederick, MD, to take a very cool biology position at the National Cancer Institute, which is located in Fort Detrick. This is a great career move for me.

Unfortunately this move has meant that my boyfriend had to leave his excellent job in New York, and he’s been having trouble finding something suitable here. He’s been working for years in high-pressure financial printing, doing things like merger documents, Security Exchange Commision filings, mortgage resale deals, etc. - all things that have to be done fast and right. He’s superb - he started out as a proofreader, but the company he worked for has been so impressed with his skills, they’ve kept giving him more responsibility. For the past couple years, he’s been promoted to supervisor for the compostion department, which means he’s been overseeing the proofreaders and typesetters and allocating workflow between offices all over the world.

Unfortunately, the local printing scene is much more oriented towards Kinkos. Also unfortunately, he never finished college, so despite his extensive experience in printing, he doesn’t look very good on paper.

Just now, we noticed a job posting for a senior technical editor for the Air Force Medical Evaluation Support. This is exactly the sort of thing he excells at, since they’re looking for someone to coordinate document flow, publication, and quality control from techinical writers all over the country. Not only would he be great at it, but they want someone here in Fort Detrick to directly interface with the Air Force staff, which would be incredibly convenient.