Help me buy a bicycle.

We live near theKaty trail, and they’re expanding it to run about a mile behind our house. Yay!

Katy is an old railroad trail that runs across Missouri. It’s wide, flat, and well maintained, and the footing is fine, packed gravel. My husband and I are thinking about getting bikes to ride on it. I haven’t owned a bike since I was a kid, and have never lived anywhere where bike riding was a practical mode of transportation, so while I can ride a bike, I’m not really good at it. For instance, the gear thing frankly confuses me. I could learn, I’m sure, but then, do I need gears on a flat trail?

Anyway, what kind of bike should I be looking for here? I don’t want to spend a ton of money, but I don’t want to buy crap, either. I’m fine with used. I’m also short, 5’2". Would e-bay be a good place to look for this? Thanks in advance.

I am not a bike pro either, but here is my opinion.

Wherever you ultimately decide to buy, you should first go to a bike shop and get fitted for the proper sized bike. Having your bike the proper size will make riding it much more enjoyable as it will minimize any pain you might experience while riding.

Also looking around at a store in person will help you determine what style of bike you will ultimately want, you will be able ask questions, and you can compare prices.

Other things to consider…
If you buy online, you will probably have to assemble the bike yourself, which means you could make a mistake and not have the bike function properly, although you could take it to the bike shop and have them assemble it for you, but that will cost you the price of labor. If you buy from the bike store, it will most likely be assembled and you can ride it out if you wanted. The downside of buying from a store is that you may not be able to find a better deal.